RSS Feed for an environment reporter

2 Sep

As a reporter, it is important to stay on top of the news and be in the loop. Using RSS feeds is one of the best way to be in the know as subscribing to different feeds would enable the journalist to receive latest news related to his beat.

As an environment reporter, I have chosen to subscribe to both local and international websites. Below is a list of the websites I have added to my Google Reader and my reasons for subscribing to them.

1. National Geographic

This provides a comprehensive look on current environmental issues that plague the world. Perhaps I could even explore to see  if any of the issues discussed can be applied to Singapore.

2. Science News – Environment – The New York Times

Just as with National Geographic, subscribing to this feed would enable me to keep up to date with environmental issues in the west and again, see if any of these issues have a significant impact on Singapore so I can follow up on these stories.

3. Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources

As an environment reporter, the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources is the government ministry that my beat would work closely with. Subscribing to their feed would enable me to receive first hand news and information. For instance, they would upload speeches of the ministers. This would be useful as I would be able to get my hands on the information I need as fast as possible. 

4. National Environment Agency 

Similarly, subscribing to the NEA feed would allow me to get first hand updates about the work of the agency.

5. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan’s Facebook Page

As he is the Minister for the Environment and Water Resources, monitoring Dr Balakrishnan’s Facebook page would be good as it would allow me to keep tabs of any announcements that he might make via his Facebook. Ministers are increasingly using social media to reach out to Singaporeans and it is not uncommon for them to make news-worthy comments or even announcements via their Facebook page.

This is the link to my Google Reader: http://www.google.com/reader/view/#stream/user%2F11799655095984623352%2Flabel%2FEnvironment

Leave a Reply

